photo galleries

Photo Galleries

All photos are © The Sisters of Saint Martha.
All rights reserved. Any unauthorized use is prohibited.

Click on photo for zoomed version/slideshow.

Archival: Bethany Motherhouse

In 1921, the Sisters moved into a new motherhouse located on the outskirts of Antigonish, on the hill overlooking town and county. It was named "Bethany" after the home of the congregation's patroness, Saint Martha. For 97 years, the beloved Bethany was a vibrant center of life and prayer. The building provided a warm and welcoming space for the Sisters who lived there, for the large number of visitors who came as friends, as people of faith or as people needing support and healing, and for staff who assisted them in extending Gospel Hospitality.